In the 17 years that I’ve been in the IT industry I’ve noticed an energy pattern that keeps popping up in my life. At first I thought it was just me but recently I decided to research into it a little further, as well as listening to the experiences of my colleagues. In doing so it has made me realise that one of the major reasons I want to leave the IT industry is due to the excessive amounts of electrostress in the work place.

I’ve found that in the same way that drinking caffeine in the evenings can affect some people’s ability to get to sleep, the computer and phone has the same affect for me. If I have to work late, or go on my home laptop after a long day in front of a computer at work, I find it harder to get my mind to wind down at night. I enter what I used to call a ‘manic phase’ that agitates my mind with lots of thoughts rushing around in my head, reminding me of lists of things that need to get done, or going over projects I’m invested in, or random thoughts that I just can’t shut out. This makes drifting off to sleep almost impossible.

Most people I know would compensate the lost sleep and lack of concentration by drinking coffee or energy drinks. I choose to give up caffeine in 2005 for health reasons. My doctor diagnosed me with Fibromyalgia when I burned out after being in the IT industry for 5-6 years . At the time they said that theories suggested that the symptoms of Fibromyalgia maybe due to the effects of not being able to reset the nervous system each night. This occurs because of an increase in sensitivity to light and noise, which then disturbs deep sleep – and over a prolonged period of time it creates a viscous cycle. The nervous system gets more sensitive due to a lack of sleep and the sleep is more disturbed due to being so sensitive. The only way to break this cycle is to improve the quality of sleep. So anything that overstimulated the nerves in any way, such as caffeine, only would make matters worse. Now this condition is more complicated than this, and I understand that research is changing opinion on this all the time, but the idea that sleep effected the nervous system like that did resonate with my situation.

More recently I wondered if being an empath also made me extra sensitive to all the electronic frequencies emitted by laptops, monitors, mobile phones, Bluetooth and WiFi. For work I’m in front of the computer at least 7.5 hours a day five days a week, in a building that has dozens of WiFi options. I might use my phone whilst commuting, surrounded by hundreds of other people’s phones and laptops. Even though I live in the countryside, my small living room (close to our smart meter) has a TV, two computers, WiFi, 2 mobile phones and a tablet. We have a power line and mobile mast rather close too. I am swimming in electronic interference – could this be why my nervous system gets over stimulated and I can’t sleep at night? Could electrostress be the real problem here?

So I did a little digging. I found this chart showing the different brainwave frequencies, what effects it has on us, and what equipment transmits them. I could see that when I’m on the computer a lot I was getting into a high/hyper beta state, which is far from the low delta I needed to be in to get the restorative sleep for my nervous system to reset. It also states that Electrostress is a term recognised since at least 1969 and Wikionary defines it as: “…negative effects of electromagnetic fields on living beings”.  Chakra Healing Sounds reports that “Scientists estimate that our exposure to Electro-magnetic Fields (EMF) is 100 million times higher than it was 100 years ago”. When these two snippets came to my attention I began to suspect why I had recently made certain changes in my life.

In 2016 I had to prune back on personal projects, so that I could spend as much of my spare time and holidays away from the computer as possible. I’ve had to use this time to unplug in the natural surrounding I’m lucky enough to live in. Sometimes it takes me a few days for my mind to settle down into a more relaxed mode of being, as well as to get back up again into the fast pace of the city when I return to work.

I’ve known for a long time that the act of being in front of the computer was distressing to me as my ability to concentrate on complicated projects has been a skill that has been declining over the years instead of improving. Not because I’m incapable, but because of the effort it takes to hold complex systems in my mind for prolonged periods of time in a distracting environment that I now know is bombarded with electronic frequencies. Add my empathic abilities and general sensitivity into the mix and it’s little wonder why I’ve had the issues I’ve had.

During my research I happened to find some companies that provide protective devices against EMFs to reduce electrostress. Realising that these things existed made me consider how nice it would be to create a space that people could come to unplug and detox from electrostress – and develop their psychic abilities free from interference. (So Source, if you are willing and able, I’ll follow the way!)

Whether you consider yourself sensitive, intuitive, psychic, or none of the above if you live and work in a similar environment to me then maybe it’s time to reassess how electrostress might be affecting your life. Here are a few resources to get you going:

References:

4 thoughts on “How Electrostress Affects Me as an Empath

  1. I find that if you house your WiFi router in a room with open windows it helps at least keep that room cleaner. I also notice the spirits that live in my home avoid that area & in fact stay in places furthest from my router. Getting outside is key. For me its the only way I can cleanse , direct energy from the trees.

    Like

    1. Hi Eric,

      Yeah I agree about getting outside. I’m so glad I live in the countryside as I can just pop out to the garden when I want and get a break. Unfortunately the room our router is in only has one window and it can’t be opened as it is in need of repair. But once we have fixed it I will give it a try. Thanks for the tip!

      Like

Leave a Reply

